Automotive News People News Feed http://www.autonews.com News, blogs and commentary from the leader in North American automotive news en-us Thu, 8 Dec 2016 06:00:00 EST Another strange tale from the world of Lapo Elkann http://www.autonews.com/article/20161205/OEM02/312059975/another-strange-tale-from-the-world-of-lapo-elkann Mon, 5 Dec 2016 00:01:00 EST Trouble seems to be Lapo Elkann's middle name. The flamboyant 39-year-old heir to the Fiat fortune, no stranger to lurid headlines, was arrested in New York on Nov. 27 on suspicion of falsely reporting his own kidnapping. Ex-FCA exec joins law firm, gets connected-vehicle role http://www.autonews.com/article/20161205/OEM02/312059956/ex-fca-exec-joins-law-firm-gets-connected-vehicle-role Mon, 5 Dec 2016 00:01:00 EST Former Fiat Chrysler general counsel Marjorie Loeb is re-establishing ties with the auto industry, having been named a partner in the corporate and securities practice of Mayer Brown in Chicago. Nissan, Harman execs join World Congress panel http://www.autonews.com/article/20161205/OEM09/312059961/nissan-harman-execs-join-world-congress-panel Mon, 5 Dec 2016 00:01:00 EST Rachel Nguyen, executive director of Nissan's Future Lab, and Dinesh Paliwal, CEO of the Harman Leadership Institute, will speak at the Automotive News World Congress on Wednesday, Jan. 11. Trump's auto team comes together http://www.autonews.com/article/20161204/OEM11/312059979/trumps-auto-team-comes-together Sun, 4 Dec 2016 00:01:00 EST Trump's pick of Wilbur Ross to head Commerce puts a powerful auto industry investor in a role where he will influence trade talks and the U.S. business climate. But Ross' business moves have not been purely Trumpian. Robert Mueller http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289959/robert-mueller Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST As the court-appointed special settlement master, former FBI Director Robert Mueller, 72, steered the talks that produced the record-setting $14.7 billion settlement of VW's 2.0-liter diesel emissions violations in a matter of months. Melinda Holman http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289966/melinda-holman Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST Melinda Holman's dealership group got a lot larger this year. What to make of these Fiat tweets? http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM/311289931/what-to-make-of-these-fiat-tweets Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST Why is Oscar-winning actor Tom Hanks going around Europe taking photos with distressed Fiats and posting them on Twitter, claiming to be 'excited about my new car'? Vinnie Johnson http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289947/vinnie-johnson Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST They called Vinnie Johnson the "Microwave" back in his days as the Detroit Pistons' sixth man because of his ability to spring from the bench and quickly heat up the action. Tony Cervone http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289944/tony-cervone Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST Tony Cervone returned to General Motors in 2014, when it needed an experienced hand to guide the company and its newly minted CEO, Mary Barra, through its ignition-switch crisis. Frank Ferrara http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289946/frank-ferrara Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST How about this for a tough assignment: Launch a brand-new customer care package for a brand-new luxury brand -- Genesis -- that competes against Mercedes, Audi, BMW and Lexus, roll it out at 800 dealerships nationwide, and get noticed. Amnon Shashua http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289935/amnon-shashua Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST The co-founder and chief technology officer of Mobileye stood up to Tesla's public attacks, countering that Tesla was "pushing the envelope in terms of safety" and asserting that Mobileye argued against Tesla's decision to allow its Autopilot system... Tim Mahoney http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289962/tim-mahoney Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST In June, Chevrolet hit Ford where it hurts -- in the aluminum bed of the F-150 pickup. Alan Batey http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289937/alan-batey Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST General Motors -- yes, that General Motors -- has become the industry's most unlikely model of self-discipline this year, and the results are flowing straight through to the company's bottom line. Ron Lamb http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289953/ron-lamb Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST Ron Lamb is leading a major revamp of Reynolds and Reynolds business model, making him an Automotive News All Star. Steve Kiefer http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289940/steve-kiefer Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST After hitting a low point in 2013, General Motors' relations with suppliers are on the upswing. In May, Planning Perspectives Inc.'s annual purchasing report card gave GM, one of the six biggest automakers, a significantly better grade. Rodolfo Dominguez and Johan Swart http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289957/rodolfo-dominguez-and-johan-swart Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST Daimler's U.S. captive finance arm, Mercedes-Benz Financial Services, completed a $150 million project this past spring to replace its legacy contract management systems with updated technology. Jim Hallet http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289938/jim-hallet Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST Jim Hallett has made safe, accident-free environments at physical auction sites a top priority at KAR Auction, the parent company of ADESA. Mark Reuss http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289943/mark-reuss Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST General Motors' product development chief Mark Reuss, 53, is not afraid to take chances -- and it's paying off. Yoshi Yamane http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289950/yoshi-yamane Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST Yoshi Yamane is reinventing one of the things Honda does best: flexible manufacturing, making him an Automotive News All Star. Jerry Dias http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289952/jerry-dias Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST When Unifor President Jerry Dias entered 2016 labor negotiations with the Detroit 3 in Canada, he faced an auto manufacturing sector on the verge of collapse. He won agreements that at least stopped the bleeding. Anthony Foxx http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289955/anthony-foxx Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST As autonomous and connectivity technologies reshape how automakers think about personal mobility, U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx has ensured that regulators follow suit. Joy Falotico http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289956/joy-falotico Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST Joy Falotico, Ford Credit's CEO and chairman, has quickly climbed the ranks this year. She was promoted to CEO and chairman of Ford's captive finance company in October after being promoted to COO less than a year earlier. Pamela Fletcher http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289975/pamela-fletcher Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST Pamela Fletcher has accomplished the same feat two years in a row: popularizing an electrified vehicle. Bryan DeBoer http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289964/bryan-deboer Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST Bryan DeBoer has continued Lithia Motors Inc.'s acquisition push, buying the Carbone Auto Group, making him an Automotive News All Star. John Mendel http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289981/john-mendel Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST As co-leader of Honda's Takata response committee, Mendel pushed for action and transparency to find the 10.7 million Hondas and Acuras impacted. Andrea Riley http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289967/andrea-riley Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST Andrea Riley, chief marketing officer for Ally Financial, has given the auto lending community a face-lift through Ally's marketing efforts. Gorden Wagener http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289977/gorden-wagener Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST Under its 48-year-old design chief Gorden Wagener, Mercedes-Benz has become increasingly adept at walking the line of pushing the brand into the future without alienating buyers. Dietmar Exler http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289973/dietmar-exler Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST Dietmar Exler has only held the top U.S. job at Mercedes-Benz since January, but he was No. 2 for the past two years and has helped put Mercedes on a path to reclaim the top spot in the U.S. luxury sales race. Mary Barra http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289970/mary-barra Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST Under CEO Mary Barra, 54, GM is delivering -- not only on the Chevrolet Bolt, which went into production this month, but on profit goals and quality gains as well. Li Shufu http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289980/li-shufu Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST His greater accomplishment was continuing to oversee the stunning rebirth of Volvo. Hakan Samuelsson http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289971/hakan-samuelsson Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST Hakan Samuelsson has led Vovo Cars' revival, making him an Automotive News All Star. Duncan Aldred http://www.autonews.com/article/20161128/OEM02/311289979/duncan-aldred Mon, 28 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST In two years, Duncan Aldred has given new life to Buick, a brand that had limped along with a thin lineup and a reputation for being the car grandma drives. GM's Barra focusing on profits and technology leadership http://www.autonews.com/article/20161121/OEM08/311219931/gms-barra-focusing-on-profits-and-technology-leadership Mon, 21 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST When Mary Barra faced a massive recall crisis as General Motors' new CEO, she implored employees to never forget the errors of GM's past. Fuji&'s Yoshinaga on Subaru quality, capacity, surging sales http://www.autonews.com/article/20161121/OEM08/311219930/fuji-s-yoshinaga-on-subaru-quality-capacity-surging-sales Mon, 21 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST Subaru is on pace for its eighth straight year of record U.S. sales. Yasuyuki Yoshinaga, CEO of Fuji Heavy Industries, the Japanese company that makes Subaru cars, is racing to meet the booming demand with large capacity increases. New Ford roles suit Craig, Mondragon http://www.autonews.com/article/20161121/OEM02/311219916/new-ford-roles-suit-craig-mondragon Mon, 21 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST When Dianne Craig takes over as Ford Motor Co.'s director of sales on Jan. 1, she'll succeed Dave Mondragon, a sales chief whose steady leadership and warm personality made him a friend to dealers during the height of the auto sales cycle. Honda's Mendel on World Congress roster http://www.autonews.com/article/20161121/OEM09/311219954/hondas-mendel-on-world-congress-roster Mon, 21 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST John Mendel, executive vice president of American Honda Motor Co.'s automobile division and the dean of U.S. import executives, will speak at the Automotive News World Congress on Jan.11. Automotive News hires Martinez to cover Ford http://www.autonews.com/article/20161121/OEM02/311219958/automotive-news-hires-martinez-to-cover-ford Mon, 21 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST Michael Martinez has joined Automotive News as a reporter covering Ford Motor Co. Industry's women urged to empower one another http://www.autonews.com/article/20161114/OEM02/311149938/industrys-women-urged-to-empower-one-another Mon, 14 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST The need to battle a confidence deficiency was a common thread among speakers and attendees at Automotive News' Leading Women Network Conference. The solution? Women in the industry must empower one another. Clarence Ditlow, 'guardian angel' of auto safety http://www.autonews.com/article/20161114/OEM02/311149948/clarence-ditlow-guardian-angel-of-auto-safety Mon, 14 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST Clarence Ditlow, who died Nov. 10 at age 72, played an instrumental role in making vehicles safer, more reliable and more fuel efficient. Bob Lutz calling: Let's talk about self-driving http://www.autonews.com/article/20161114/OEM03/311149972/bob-lutz-calling-lets-talk-about-self-driving Mon, 14 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST Former General Motors Vice Chairman Bob Lutz laid out a vision in a keynote at the Michigan Venture Capital Association Annual Awards Dinner. Martin Leach took passion for racing to exec suite http://www.autonews.com/article/20161107/OEM02/311079958/martin-leach-took-passion-for-racing-to-exec-suite Mon, 7 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST From the age of 5, when he chose a push car as a birthday present, Martin Leach was happiest behind the wheel of an automobile, preferably a very fast one. Google's Krafcik will address AN World Congress http://www.autonews.com/article/20161107/OEM09/311079965/googles-krafcik-will-address-an-world-congress Mon, 7 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST John Krafcik, CEO of Google's self-driving car project, will speak at the Automotive News World Congress on Jan. 10. The former Hyundai Motor America CEO and longtime Ford executive joined Google in September 2015. Broker just trying to be helpful? http://www.autonews.com/article/20161107/RETAIL07/311079971/broker-just-trying-to-be-helpful Mon, 7 Nov 2016 00:01:00 EST This It has been an exasperating presidential election cycle and feels like it has gone on forever. So now that it's almost over, why not have a little fun? NISSAN'S GHOSN: CEO already plotting next targets http://www.autonews.com/article/20161031/OEM08/310319995/nissans-ghosn-ceo-already-plotting-next-targets Mon, 31 Oct 2016 00:01:00 EST Carlos Ghosn is five months from the conclusion of his multiyear Power 88 business plan, with its targets for increased profitability and bigger market share. He now has to decide what his next targets will be. Mercedes design boss to speak at World Congress http://www.autonews.com/article/20161031/OEM09/310319949/mercedes-design-boss-to-speak-at-world-congress Mon, 31 Oct 2016 00:01:00 EST Mercedes-Benz is on track to pass BMW to become the world's best-selling premium brand this year. Bill Ford: Looks like Detroit's not 'too dumb' after all http://www.autonews.com/article/20161031/OEM02/310319972/bill-ford-looks-like-detroits-not-too-dumb-after-all Mon, 31 Oct 2016 00:01:00 EST Bill Ford is tired of hearing that the future of cars belongs to Silicon Valley. Yet for years, the Apple and Google crowd have been telling him that only Big Tech can make driverless vehicles. Jeep owner gets surprise from the junkyard http://www.autonews.com/article/20161024/OEM/310249947/jeep-owner-gets-surprise-from-the-junkyard Mon, 24 Oct 2016 00:01:00 EST The redesigned 2018 Jeep Wrangler hasn't gone into production yet, but one man can already call himself an owner. Or at least could - partially. Carlos Tavares' next frontier http://www.autonews.com/article/20161024/OEM02/310249969/carlos-tavares-next-frontier Mon, 24 Oct 2016 00:01:00 EST Former Nissan North America chief Carlos Tavares has turned French automaker PSA around and is pushing it into global markets -- including the U.S. Madam vice president? http://www.autonews.com/article/20161024/OEM02/310249950/madam-vice-president Mon, 24 Oct 2016 00:01:00 EST While Ford Motor Co. was getting battered on the campaign trail by Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump earlier this year, his rival was apparently considering General Motors' trailblazing CEO as a potential running mate. PSA presented Tavares with the biggest challenge http://www.autonews.com/article/20161024/OEM02/310249970/psa-presented-tavares-with-the-biggest-challenge Mon, 24 Oct 2016 00:01:00 EST Tavares' candor got him fired at Renault, but it also got him what he wanted: the chance to be CEO of a major global automaker.