Automotive News People News Feed http://www.autonews.com News, blogs and commentary from the leader in North American automotive news en-us Thu, 7 May 2015 06:00:00 EST Munoz says Nissan's 10% U.S. share in reach http://www.autonews.com/article/20150504/OEM02/305049968/munoz-says-nissans-10-u-s-share-in-reach Mon, 4 May 2015 00:01:00 EST Nissan Chairman Jose Munoz faces a difficult assignment: He must take Nissan and Infiniti to a combined 10 percent US market share by March 2017, up from 8.4 percent at the end of 2014. At Mercedes, signs point to a strong year http://www.autonews.com/article/20150504/OEM02/305049969/at-mercedes-signs-point-to-a-strong-year Mon, 4 May 2015 00:01:00 EST Two years from now, Mercedes-Benz USA will be a different company with "a new level of energy," CEO Steve Cannon said. 2 industry titans in turmoil http://www.autonews.com/article/20150504/OEM02/305049956/2-industry-titans-in-turmoil Mon, 4 May 2015 00:01:00 EST Two of Europe's automotive titans, long used to getting their way in boardroom intrigues, suffered rare defeats in late April that threaten to alter permanently the empires they built. Caddy wants unique team, unique powertrains http://www.autonews.com/article/20150504/OEM04/305049977/caddy-wants-unique-team-unique-powertrains Mon, 4 May 2015 00:01:00 EST Dave Leone, Cadillac's chief engineer, says he wants to differentiate Cadillac powertrains in terms of power, refinement and sound. Marchionne: Here's what I'm not talking about http://www.autonews.com/article/20150504/OEM02/305049973/marchionne-heres-what-im-not-talking-about Mon, 4 May 2015 00:01:00 EST Addressing analysts on a conference call last week, Fiat Chrysler Automobiles CEO Sergio Marchionne made a presentation he called "Confessions of a Capital Junkie: An Insider Perspective on the Cure for the Industry's Value-destroying Addiction to... Marchionne: Automakers must consolidate http://www.autonews.com/article/20150504/OEM02/305049983/marchionne-automakers-must-consolidate Mon, 4 May 2015 00:01:00 EST The world's automakers spend billions of dollars each to develop their own four-cylinder engines. That's a sure sign that the industry's business model is broken, said Sergio Marchionne, CEO of Fiat Chrysler Automobiles. DARCARS keeps focus amid lawsuit, CEO says http://www.autonews.com/article/20150503/RETAIL07/305049976/darcars-keeps-focus-amid-lawsuit-ceo-says Sun, 3 May 2015 00:01:00 EST DARCARS Automotive Group faced a human- and public relations nightmare after the founder's daughter, Tamara, sued her father and the company while media coverage of the rift prompted calls for a boycott. Piech's career battles will be his legacy http://europe.autonews.com/article/20150420/BLOG15/304209901/piechs-career-battles-will-be-his-legacy Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Ferdinand Piech started out his career with a pretty serious rivalry -- tangling with cousin Ferdinand "Butzi" Porsche, designer of the 911. Now it appears he'll bow out in more or less the same fashion. At war. It's just his style. Shawn Coyle http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209994/shawn-coyle Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 39Title: Vice president, retail network solutions sales for North America, MSX International Inc.Big break: An internship in a Cadillac zone office In short order, Dan Ammann has soared to GM's top operations jobs http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/RETAIL/304209966/in-short-order-dan-ammann-has-soared-to-gms-top-operations-jobs Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST After a surprise career change and startling ascension, Dan Ammann now oversees General Motors' operations around the world. Piech's career battles will be his legacy http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/OEM02/304209934/piechs-career-battles-will-be-his-legacy Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Ferdinand Piech started out his career with a pretty serious rivalry -- tangling with cousin Ferdinand "Butzi" Porsche, designer of the 911. Now it appears he'll bow out in more or less the same fashion. At war. It's just his style. Electrification 'friend,' not threat, to BorgWarner http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/OEM02/304209928/electrification-friend-not-threat-to-borgwarner Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST BorgWarner CEO James Verrier, 52, sees electrification of the powertrain as a positive for his company despite the supplier's heavy reliance on parts that electric vehicles don't need. U.S. at the center of VW's crisis in Germany http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/OEM02/304209954/u-s-at-the-center-of-vws-crisis-in-germany Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST The turmoil that nearly cost Volkswagen Group CEO Martin Winterkorn his job last week is rooted in the company's travails in the U.S., where the VW brand has made precious little progress since Winterkorn took charge eight years ago. De Niro starts the engines on Ferrari film http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/OEM02/304209939/de-niro-starts-the-engines-on-ferrari-film Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Fans of Enzo Ferrari have waited a long time for a biopic of the great man. Now it appears they'll get their wish -- with Robert De Niro in the lead role. Google's top visionary to address engineers http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/OEM06/304209958/googles-top-visionary-to-address-engineers Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Consider it a speech from the future. Ray Kurzweil, Google's director of engineering and renowned inventor, author and futurist, will be the keynote speaker at SAE International's World Congress in Detroit. Steve Zadesky http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209975/steve-zadesky Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 42 or 43 (est.)Title: Vice president of product design, Apple Inc.Big break: Leaving Ford Motor Co. for Apple to work on the original iPod. Petter Witt http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209976/petter-witt Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 41Title: BMW of North America regional vice president, Western regionBig break: Asked to help run a BMW management retreat for top U.S. executives. Jeremy Tucker http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209977/jeremy-tucker Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 38Title: Vice president, marketing communications and media, Nissan North AmericaBig break: Becoming a key member of the Doritos marketing team while at PepsiCo Vinay Shahani http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209978/vinay-shahani Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 41Title: Vice president, marketing, Volkswagen of AmericaBig break: Leaving Nissan after nearly 10 years to become VW's marketing chief Andrew Pontius http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209979/andrew-pontius Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 45Title: Director of product design and development for North American emissions control, FaureciaBig break: Switching from product development to factory management in 2007 Dave Pericak http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209980/dave-pericak Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 43Title: Director, Ford PerformanceBig break: Chief engineer of the 2015 Ford Mustang Ben Patel http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209981/ben-patel Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 47Title: Vice president for clean air, global randd and systems integration, TennecoBig break: Finding a mentor, Yale chemistry professor Bob Crabtree Jonathan Ord http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209982/jonathan-ord Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 44Title: CEO, DealerSocketBig break: Early success selling CRM software to such big groups as Penske Automotive and Ken Garff Automotive Andre Oosthuizen http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209983/andre-oosthuizen Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 43Title: Vice president of marketing, Porsche Cars North AmericaBig break: Being hired by Porsche in 2007 to lead marketing in the Middle East and Africa Ryan Nagode http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209984/ryan-nagode Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 34Title: Chief interior designer, Ram, Fiat, SRTBig break: Was lead interior designer for the 2009 Ram pickup makeover Michelle Morris http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209968/michelle-morris Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 42Title: Group director of automotive and financial services, FacebookBig break: In 2000, Morris transferred from human resources at ad agency BBDO to handle the Chrysler account Julien Montousse http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209969/julien-montousse Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 36Title: Design manager, Mazda Motor Corp.Big break: Designing the interior for the reborn Chevrolet Camaro Andy Love http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209985/andy-love Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 39Title: Head of car product marketing, Chrysler brandBig break: Being one of the first employees assigned to the reconstituted Chrysler brand after Chrysler's 2009 bankruptcy Chantel Lenard http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209987/chantel-lenard Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 45Title: Director of U.S. marketing, Ford Motor Co.Big break: Led development of the 'Fiesta Movement' campaign in 2009 Gareth Joyce http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209988/gareth-joyce Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 42Title: Vice president, customer services, Mercedes-Benz USABig break: Getting assigned to Mercedes-Benz Netherlands Matt Jones http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209989/matt-jones Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 36Title: Head of future infotainment, Jaguar Land RoverBig break: Had an idea in 2009 for what an infotainment system should look like #8212; and told his boss about it Li Jiang http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209986/li-jiang Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 32Title: Manager, powertrain engineering gasoline systems, Robert BoschBig break: In 2010, Bosch assigned her to work on an advanced engine product funded by the U.S. Energy Department. Marissa Hunter http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209990/marissa-hunter Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 40Title: Director of FCA US brand advertising and head of Ram brand advertisingBig break: Joining Chrysler Group from BBDO as the automaker was coming out of bankruptcy Sheri Hickok http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209971/sheri-hickok Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 37Title: Chief engineer, GM's full-size pickupsBig break: Being picked in 2006 to run A World in Motion, an SAE volunteer program Bart Herring http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209991/bart-herring Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 45Title: General manager, product planning, Mercedes-Benz USABig break: Early in his career, helped persuade top Mercedes execs to increase vehicle leasing in the U.S. Jason Haase http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209992/jason-haase Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 32Title: Chief engineer architect, Harman InternationalBig break: Designed navigation system for Harley-Davidson Rick Gibbs http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209972/rick-gibbs Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 39Title: Co-president, Dealertrack TechnologiesBig break: Promoted to president of Dealer.com in 2010 Matias Giannini http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209993/matias-giannini Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 39Title: Global director of customer centers for Ford, Volvo and Jaguar Land Rover in Continental AG's interiors divisionBig break: Developed brakes for the Ford EcoSport Michelle Christensen http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209973/michelle-christensen Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 34Title: Senior designer, Honda RandD AmericasBig break: In 2005, her concept was chosen for the design of a new Acura that later became the ZDX crossover. Jackie Birdsall http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209974/jackie-birdsall Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 31Title: Engineer, Toyota Technical CenterBig break: An internship working on DaimlerChrysler's fledgling fuel cell research team David Anderson http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/304209995/david-anderson Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 35Title: Senior manager for automotive integration, Nvidia Corp.Big break: Designed a combo navigator-radio-voice recognition system for Visteon Duncan Aldred http://www.autonews.com/article/20150420/UNDER4001/150419902/duncan-aldred Mon, 20 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Age: 44Title: Vice president of Buick and GMCBig break: Being asked to run Opel sales and marketing in 2013 amid a massive turnaround effort Automotive News adds 3 editorial staffers http://www.autonews.com/article/20150413/OEM02/304139954/automotive-news-adds-3-editorial-staffers Mon, 13 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Automotive News has expanded its editorial staff with the addition of two reporters and a senior data researcher. Kia's new bosses have a tough act to follow http://www.autonews.com/article/20150413/OEM02/304139957/kias-new-bosses-have-a-tough-act-to-follow Mon, 13 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST The departure of Kia's top U.S. executive, Byung Mo Ahn, marks a pivotal moment for a brand that has enjoyed unprecedented growth and stability. Smart CEO to speak at Europe Congress http://www.autonews.com/article/20150413/OEM02/304139978/smart-ceo-to-speak-at-europe-congress Mon, 13 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Smart CEO Annette Winkler, the first woman to lead an automotive brand in Europe, will speak at the Automotive News Europe Congress on June 10 in Birmingham, England. Obituaries http://www.autonews.com/article/20150406/RETAIL07/304069955/obituaries Mon, 6 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Longtime auto dealer Harold Lucas died March 16. He was 86. Dick Rinke, a former auto dealer, died March 25. He was 83. Who's Toyota CEO? Isn't it obvious? http://www.autonews.com/article/20150406/OEM02/304069979/whos-toyota-ceo-isnt-it-obvious Mon, 6 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST During a meeting for individual investors in Japan, Toyota showed a video of man-on-the-street footage asking regular Japanese whether they could identify the head of their country's biggest manufacturer. Most couldn't. Congressional grilling was Akio Toyoda's defining moment http://www.autonews.com/article/20150406/OEM02/304069993/congressional-grilling-was-akio-toyodas-defining-moment Mon, 6 Apr 2015 00:01:00 EST Akio Toyoda's moment of self-discovery came on what could have been the worst day of his life, sitting before a U.S. congressional panel and given a humiliating grilling about his company's response to a burgeoning unintended-acceleration crisis. Toyota's Leroy defies doubters, prepares for VW challenge http://europe.autonews.com/article/20150404/ANE/150409933/toyotas-leroy-defies-doubters-prepares-for-vw-challenge Sat, 4 Apr 2015 08:00:00 EST When Toyota hired Didier Leroy, headhunters told the Frenchman he would never get far as a foreigner at the world's largest automaker. Starting this month, Leroy oversees the planning, building and selling of Toyotas in half the world. How a Frenchman is bringing back Datsun http://www.autonews.com/article/20150329/OEM02/303309998/how-a-frenchman-is-bringing-back-datsun Sun, 29 Mar 2015 00:01:00 EST Vincent Cobee's mission to reintroduce Datsun around the world is a mixture of irony, politics, auto industry counterintuition and a fair amount of raiding the corporate closet for new products. %]