Automotive News People News Feed http://www.autonews.com News, blogs and commentary from the leader in North American automotive news en-us Thu, 27 Apr 2017 06:00:00 EST O'Reilly dump gets customer feedback http://www.autonews.com/article/20170424/RETAIL03/304249961/oreilly-dump-gets-customer-feedback Mon, 24 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Just 10 days after advertisers -- led by prominent automakers -- began pulling advertising from Bill O'Reilly's TV show in the midst of a sexual harassment controversy, the Fox News host was ousted last week after more than 20 years on the network. A rock star and his other calling http://www.autonews.com/article/20170417/GLOBAL/304179905/a-rock-star-and-his-other-calling Mon, 17 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST If not for his sideline as a rock star, John 'Jay' Geils, who died last week at age 71, might have made his name as a car guy. RISING STARS http://www.autonews.com/article/20170417/OEM02/304179927/rising-stars Mon, 17 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Dynamic young leaders at automakers and suppliers from around the country took time out from changing the course of the industry to come together at the Detroit Athletic Club last week. GM names Brook as VP of marketing for Buick, GMC http://www.autonews.com/article/20170410/OEM02/304109978/gm-names-brook-as-vp-of-marketing-for-buick-gmc Mon, 10 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST General Motors has appointed Phil Brook, a regional director for Buick and GMC, to be the brands' new U.S. vice president of marketing. Bentley Americas chief Winkler to step down June 1 http://www.autonews.com/article/20170410/OEM02/304109980/bentley-americas-chief-winkler-to-step-down-june-1 Mon, 10 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Michael Winkler will step down from his post on June 1, setting up a shuffling of executives at Audi of America. Former Honda boss Mendel nominated to TrueCar board http://www.autonews.com/article/20170410/OEM02/304109977/former-honda-boss-mendel-nominated-to-truecar-board Mon, 10 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Only a few days after his retirement from Honda, John Mendel was nominated to join the board of directors at car shopping service TrueCar. Welburn, Roush lead class of '17 into Hall of Fame http://www.autonews.com/article/20170403/OEM02/304039946/welburn-roush-lead-class-of-17-into-hall-of-fame Mon, 3 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST The Automotive Hall of Fame adds four members in 2017, including the former head of design at GM and racing's most successful owner. This meeting would be more fun if I were naked http://www.autonews.com/article/20170403/OEM02/304039939/this-meeting-would-be-more-fun-if-i-were-naked Mon, 3 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Shareholders can get rowdy at annual meetings in Germany, and at Daimler's meeting last week, one of them proposed getting naked. Walls won't help anybody win, Sommer says http://www.autonews.com/article/20170403/OEM02/304039936/walls-wont-help-anybody-win-sommer-says Mon, 3 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST ZF Friedrichshafen CEO Stefan Sommer said the company is 'very worried' about a global protectionist tide that could jeopardize the free movement of goods and ideas upon which global companies such as ZF depend. Volvo's 90th extra special for this exec http://www.autonews.com/article/20170403/OEM02/304039935/volvos-90th-extra-special-for-this-exec Mon, 3 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Anders Gustafsson, a member of Volvo's executive team, sees the company's 90th birthday from a unique perspective. The 48-year-old Swede's family owns Bildeve, one of the oldest Volvo Car dealerships in the country. Cemetery plot: There's no stealing this Ferrari http://www.autonews.com/article/20170403/OEM02/304039938/cemetery-plot-theres-no-stealing-this-ferrari Mon, 3 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Enzo Ferrari's level of eminence in Italy is difficult to exaggerate. Thus the shudder that swept through the country when Italian investigators foiled a plot to steal the body of Ferrari and demand a ransom. YooJung Ahn http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039998/yoojung-ahn Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 42Title: Lead industrial designer, WaymoBig break:... Aine Denari http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039970/aine-denari Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 44Title: Senior vice president, planning and business development, ZF TRW John Nickell http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039981/john-nickell Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 32 Title: Technical development manager, Novelis Big... Ray Kuczera http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039987/ray-kuczera Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 42Title: Senior vice president of engineering and technology, GKN Driveline Chas Murphy http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039982/chas-murphy Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 39Title: Vice president, strategy, research and advanced analytics, Cadillac Irina Zavatski http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039975/irina-zavatski Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 39Title: Exterior design manager, Jeep, FCA USBig... Heiko Weller http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039976/heiko-weller Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 45Title: Vice president of engineering, Robert Bosch GmbH Kyle Vogt http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039974/kyle-vogt Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 31Title: CEO, Cruise AutomationBig break: Selling... Tom Toma http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039977/tom-toma Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 34Title: Global product manager, Magna Electronics' Far Field Electronics Jada Tapley http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039978/jada-tapley Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 39Title: Global director, software engineering, operating system and tools, Delphi... Chris Son http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039979/chris-son Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 45Title: Director of marketing and communications, American Axle and Manufacturing Holdings Inc. Robert Schnell http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039980/robert-schnell Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 43Title: General manager, Air International Thermal Systems David Mosley http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039983/david-mosley Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 42Title: Director of sales and chief engineer for actuators, Robert Bosch GmbH Sage Marie http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039984/sage-marie Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 41Title: Senior manager, public relations, American Honda Motor Co. Meg Lanza http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039986/meg-lanza Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 42Title: Director of production systems, Robert Bosch GmbH Corey Knight http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039988/corey-knight Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 41Title: Director of engineering, Cooper Standard Holdings Inc. Darci Marcum http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039985/darci-marcum Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 44Title: Assistant plant manager, Arlington, Texas, assembly plant, General Motors Aisha Johnson http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039997/aisha-johnson Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 38 Title: Manager -- core human machine interface and ergonomics, FCA US David Guaresimo http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039989/david-guaresimo Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 40Title: Director of operations and program management, American Axle and Manufacturing Holdings Inc. Cynthia Flanigan http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039990/cynthia-flanigan Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 43Title: Global manager, design and final assembly systems, materials and manufacturing research and... Phil Eyler http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039991/phil-eyler Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 45Title: Executive vice president and president, Connected Car, Harman International... Jackie DiMarco http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039992/jackie-dimarco Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 44Title: Chief engineer, autonomous vehicles, Ford Motor Co. Jim Conklin http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039993/jim-conklin Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 45Title: Vice president of seating operations, Americas, Adient Bashar Cholagh http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039994/bashar-cholagh Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 38Title: Head of U.S. Adam Chamberlain http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039971/adam-chamberlain Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 43 Title: Vice president, sales, Mercedes-Benz USABig... Matt Carpenter http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039995/matt-carpenter Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 36 Title: Vice president, CFO, Audi of America/Audi of Canada Michael Bunce http://www.autonews.com/article/20170402/UNDER4001/304039996/michael-bunce Sun, 2 Apr 2017 00:01:00 EST Age: 44Title: Vice president, product planning, Nissan North America After 41 years, Honda's Mendel drives off http://www.autonews.com/article/20170327/OEM02/303279970/after-41-years-hondas-mendel-drives-off Mon, 27 Mar 2017 00:01:00 EST Forty-one years can teach you a lot about the auto industry -- including when it's the right time to go out on top. On April 1, American Honda's John Mendel will do just that. Chuck Berry made car-buying rock http://www.autonews.com/article/20170327/RETAIL/303279964/chuck-berry-made-car-buying-rock Mon, 27 Mar 2017 00:01:00 EST A huge reason cars and rock 'n' roll go together so well are the songs of early rocker Chuck Berry, who died this month at age 90. Court nominee's mom was EPA lightning rod http://www.autonews.com/article/20170327/OEM02/303279961/court-nominees-mom-was-epa-lightning-rod Mon, 27 Mar 2017 00:01:00 EST Supreme Court nominee Neil Gorsuch's mother, Anne Gorsuch Burford, spent 22 controversial months as head of the Environmental Protection Agency EPA under President Ronald Reagan. Nissan moves U.S. execs to global roles http://www.autonews.com/article/20170327/OEM02/303279990/nissan-moves-u-s-execs-to-global-roles Mon, 27 Mar 2017 00:01:00 EST A series of job promotions announced last week by Nissan North America gives indications of two new shifts at the company -- growing importance of light commercial vehicles, and movement of trusted Nashville executives to headquarters in Japan. How Nissan's Shiro Nakamura became the crossover king http://www.autonews.com/article/20170320/OEM03/303209966/how-nissans-shiro-nakamura-became-the-crossover-king Mon, 20 Mar 2017 00:01:00 EST Shiro Nakamura, who will retire next month after transforming Nissan design over the past 17 years, also holds the distinction of making "crossover" a household word. Obituary http://www.autonews.com/article/20170313/OEM02/303139939/obituary Mon, 13 Mar 2017 00:01:00 EST Bill Carlin, former vice president of Ford's dealership operations, died Feb. 27. He was 90. Reynolds President Ron Lamb steps down http://www.autonews.com/article/20170306/OEM02/303069958/reynolds-president-ron-lamb-steps-down Mon, 6 Mar 2017 00:01:00 EST Reynolds and Reynolds President Ron Lamb stepped down from the company after nearly seven years at the helm of the dealership software giant. A chance to change the world http://www.autonews.com/article/20170306/MOBILITY/303069980/a-chance-to-change-the-world Mon, 6 Mar 2017 00:01:00 EST Automotive News' Shiraz Ahmed took an informal survey of an online chat group created for Udacity's self-driving car engineering course. Visa limits could slow self-driving work http://www.autonews.com/article/20170306/MOBILITY/303069982/visa-limits-could-slow-self-driving-work Mon, 6 Mar 2017 00:01:00 EST Potential limits on a visa program intended for high-skilled foreign workers could slow the race to build the self-driving car, according to analysts at the Center for Automotive research. Sales pitch for randd talent goes beyond money http://www.autonews.com/article/20170306/MOBILITY/303069981/sales-pitch-for-rd-talent-goes-beyond-money Mon, 6 Mar 2017 00:01:00 EST The increased competition for talent in the autonomous field has led recruiters to learn new lessons when talking to this community. Lesson #1? Compensation isn't everything. Shuffle at Toyota according to plan http://www.autonews.com/article/20170306/OEM02/303069956/shuffle-at-toyota-according-to-plan Mon, 6 Mar 2017 00:01:00 EST Toyota's executive shuffle last week was part of broader effort to stay nimble, while the promotions of key figures in North America, including Bob Carter and Bill Fay, follow long-term succession plans for top posts. The jobs Ghosn might have had http://www.autonews.com/article/20170227/OEM02/302279956/wanted-man-jobs-he-might-have-had Mon, 27 Feb 2017 00:01:00 EST The partnership that Carlos Ghosn orchestrated turned him into a superstar who nearly became General Motors' savior a decade ago and who was courted twice by Ford Motor Co. %]