Automotive News People News Feed http://www.autonews.com News, blogs and commentary from the leader in North American automotive news en-us Sun, 20 Apr 2014 06:00:00 EST Krafcik's back: Many projects, scads of ideas http://www.autonews.com/article/20140414/OEM02/304149941/krafciks-back-many-projects-scads-of-ideas Mon, 14 Apr 2014 00:01:00 EST Somewhere between a conversation on the future of retailing and the excitement over meeting a big investor for a lunch in Century City, John Krafcik has discovered something incongruous in the way the world works. Kim Stonehouse http://www.autonews.com/article/20140407/UNDER4001/304079970/kim-stonehouse Mon, 7 Apr 2014 00:01:00 EST Age: 31 Title: Industry development manager for automotive, GoogleBig break: Joining the search giant in 2006 just as the auto industry adopted paid search ads James Grace http://www.autonews.com/article/20140407/UNDER4001/304079962/james-grace Mon, 7 Apr 2014 00:01:00 EST Age: 33Title: Director of advanced automotive engineering, Panasonic Corp.Big break: At 23, he was asked to integrate a hard drive into the Cadillac CTS, the first GM vehicle to get one. Sandeep Punater http://www.autonews.com/article/20140407/UNDER4001/304079972/sandeep-punater Mon, 7 Apr 2014 00:01:00 EST Age: 39Title: North American engineering director of electronic controls, Delphi AutomotiveBig break: In 2000, he was asked to develop sensors for a collision warning system for a German... Kevin Heintz http://www.autonews.com/article/20140407/UNDER4001/304079978/kevin-heintz Mon, 7 Apr 2014 00:01:00 EST Age: 37Title: Managing director of the GM business unit for Johnson Controls Automotive SeatingBig break: In 2002, JCI hired him away from ExxonMobil to work on Toyota seat contracts. John Absmeier http://www.autonews.com/article/20140407/UNDER4001/304079984/john-absmeier Mon, 7 Apr 2014 00:01:00 EST Age: 39Title: Director, Delphi Labs @ Silicon Valley, Delphi AutomotiveBig break:Asked to launch Delphi's Mountain View, Calif., technical center in 2012 Erin Wormald http://www.autonews.com/article/20140407/UNDER4001/304079985/erin-wormald Mon, 7 Apr 2014 00:01:00 EST Age: 37Title: Program manager, ArcelorMittal Global Research andamp; DevelopmentBig break: Taking part in a project to re-engineer key components of a typical C-segment vehicle to reduce... A look back at the Wagoner legacy http://www.autonews.com/article/20140331/OEM/303319963/a-look-back-at-the-wagoner-legacy Mon, 31 Mar 2014 00:01:00 EST Rick Wagoner's forced departure from General Motors five years ago this week took some getting used to. He had been at or near the pinnacle of power at GM for 17 years. For eight years he was the company's CEO. Then, suddenly, it was over. Ukraine crisis makes Andersson's turnaround of AvtoVAZ tougher http://www.autonews.com/article/20140331/OEM02/303319967/ukraine-crisis-makes-anderssons-turnaround-of-avtovaz-tougher Mon, 31 Mar 2014 00:01:00 EST Bo Andersson, the new CEO of Russia's No.1 carmaker AvtoVAZ, is battling to revive the business amid economic uncertainty caused by the Crimea crisis. VW's Tenn. plant chief is reassigned http://www.autonews.com/article/20140331/OEM02/303319983/vws-tenn-plant-chief-is-reassigned Mon, 31 Mar 2014 00:01:00 EST Frank Fischer, who has led Volkswagen AG's operations in Chattanooga since the automaker announced its return to U.S. manufacturing in 2008, has been reassigned to lead an assembly plant in Germany.