News

DEAL US IN
April 23
Author: Jamie LaReau

Some dealers are offering subscription programs to ensure they remain relevant as automakers also experiment with the business model.

Don't bet on widespread breakups of JVs in China
April 23
Author: Yang Jian

A complete separation will be hard for some global brands that manufacture in China, and it may not be desirable for major global automakers such as General Motors.

Mercedes previewing Maybach SUV
April 23
Author: Christiaan Hetzner

Mercedes will preview a potential SUV rival to the Bentley Bentayga and upcoming Rolls-Royce Cullinan with the Vision Mercedes-Maybach Ultimate Luxury concept at the Beijing auto show this week.

Create auto career paths for women, managers say
April 23
Author: Anisa Jibrell

Automotive manufacturers are staffing up for a new wave of innovators to drive technological change, and many realize that they need a more diverse pool of talent -- especially women -- to get the job done.

Maybe GM is just margin-minded
April 23

GM could also stand for Gross Margin, which businesses should always try to improve.

USS Midway: From an aircraft carrier to a used-car carrier
April 23

It was all hands on deck for an auction of used Lexus and Toyota vehicles on the retired aircraft carrier USS Midway.

This is not the MG you know
April 23

The MG of the present is a bit ... unrecognizable, but the company is forging ahead into new segments and new powertrains.

Flexdrive: Independent dealers get tools to build subscription revenue
April 23
Author: Jamie LaReau

Momentum Motorcars in Atlanta serves as a role model to franchise dealers on how to do subscription selling.

Camaro blows out candles on Mustang birthday cake
April 23

Ford wants to celebrate the Mustang's 54th birthday. That gave Chevy its own marketing idea.

Relaxed CAFE standards could make a difficult business even tougher
April 23

Just as CAFE can often be at odds with the realities of the consumer automotive market, an overly simplistic view that all regulation is bad can be at odds with the reality of a complex global business.

GM's electric push: Velite 6, Enspire in Beijing
April 23
Author: Michael Wayland

The first vehicle announced under General Motors' ambitious effort to introduce at least 20 electric or fuel cell vehicles by 2023 will be the Buick Velite 6 for China.

Drive Germain: 'This is a time-saving service'
April 23
Author: Jamie LaReau

Germain Automotive Group is in the subscription car business to attract new customers, drive revenue and prepare for a changing future.

FlexWheels: Ready-made dealer platform
April 23
Author: Jamie LaReau

Warren Henry Auto Group started a subscription program that's inspiring the group to develop an operational platform to help other dealers run subscription models.

Infiniti plots more local production in China
April 23
Author: Hans Greimel

Infiniti wants to triple its sales in China in five years by ramping up local production of five new nameplates.

Drive Flow: Group has three keys to profiting from subscriptions
April 23
Author: Jamie LaReau

Dealer Don Flow had tried to come up with a way to let customers swap vehicles frequently; the advent of vehicle subscription services now makes it possible -- and profitable for him.

Next-gen Lexus ES features new contours, tweaked grille
April 23
Author: Laurence Iliff

The next-generation Lexus ES sedan, which will debut at the Beijing auto show, will feature a more stylized body with a more prominent version of the brand's polarizing spindle grille.

Dealers can drive autonomous future
April 23

The autonomous future is indisputably coming to the automotive industry, but it is up to dealers to decide how that impacts the future of the dealership.

Calif. bill would add some muscle to franchise laws
April 23
Author: James B. Treece

A wide-ranging California bill that aims to strengthen the state's existing new-car dealer franchise laws is scheduled to have its first committee hearing today.

Store experience valued in Portland
April 23

There are so many hardworking people with “great habits” making a career in dealerships that I just had to respond.

Getting used-to-new balance right is key
April 23
Author: James B. Treece

The closely watched ratio of used- to new-vehicle retail sales is a measure of dealership success. But in fact, it's a metric where very few dealerships excel.

How big a slice of the used-car pie will independents take?
April 23

Independent retailers are abundant, resilient and growing, but they don't necessarily pose a threat to franchised dealerships' used-vehicle operations.

Florida dealership cafes taste like success
April 23
Author: Jackie Charniga

At two Florida dealerships, food service is treated as a department unto itself, serving both customers and staff with a wide-ranging menu.

SHARP FOCUS
April 23
Author: James B. Treece

Reagor Dykes Auto Group, a budding powerhouse on Automotive News' list of the top 100 dealership groups in used retail sales, sells well beyond its west Texas base.

Review of mpg rules is necessary
April 23

I find there is some truth to Gina McCarthy's comment about the current administration wanting to roll back a fair number of the previous administration’s policies.

Toyota goes out on a limb with V2V technology
April 23
Author: Laurence Iliff

Toyota is hoping to break an awkward silence in the discussion over getting vehicles to talk to one another.

Nissan targets 9,000 store renovations
April 23
Author: Hans Greimel

Nissan envisions renovating 9,000 of its 10,000 worldwide dealerships over the next five years.

Dealers begin to fixate on costs -- again
April 23
Author: Jamie LaReau

Dealers are increasingly cutting costs across the board this year to offset narrowing margins, rising expenses and a potential economic downturn.

Cadillac polishes all-new, 3-row SUV
April 23
Author: Richard Truett

Cadillac's next all-new vehicle -- the XT6 -- is taking shape and taking to the road for testing.

Ford Diesel F-150 cracks 30 mpg mark
April 23
Author: Michael Martinez

The first diesel version of the Ford F-150 will be rated at 30 mpg in highway driving, making it the most fuel-efficient full-size pickup on the market when it hits showrooms next month.

Dealer anniversaries
April 23

Dealers featured this week include Larry Gambrel, dealer principal of Gambrel Toyota in Corbin, Ky.; Greg Murray, president of Murray's Ford-Lincoln in DuBois, Pa.; Robert Frankel, dealer principal of Frankel Acura in Cockeysville, Md.; and Richard Bertschi, president of Sam Leman Chevrolet-Buick in Eureka, Ill.

Internet eats everything
April 23

In 2017, for the first time, the Internet topped all other advertising spending by dealerships combined.

Are Tesla's days numbered?
April 23
Author: Keith Crain

Having a market to yourself is a wonderful thing, but it requires you to take advantage of your position quickly before losing that advantage.

Washington angles to check CFPB's power
April 23
Author: Hannah Lutz Jackie Charniga

Congressional efforts to limit the CFPB's power are moving in parallel with similar efforts by its leader.

Honda sweetens Accord leases, a bit
April 23
Author: Vince Bond Jr.

The discounted lease deal puts the Accord within striking distance of the Camry in strong lease markets such as California, Ohio and Florida.

No thanks, Ford says to 9-speed offered by GM
April 23
Author: Michael Martinez

Ford has elected not to use GM's nine-speed transmission out of the box, opting instead for two new eight-speed transmissions on vehicles such as the Ford Edge, Ford Transit Connect and Lincoln Nautilus.

Ford joins VW on a bold path into the future
April 23

Give Ford Motor Co., and its European head of engineering, Joe Bakaj, credit for recognizing the virtues of Volkswagen Group's global platform strategy.

Online, physical auctions each have a role
April 23

Online auctions will continue to make inroads, but physical sites remain a necessity, a study prepared for the National Auto Auction Association found.

BMW eases dealership bonus program
April 23
Author: Amy Wilson

BMW of North America won't change the major components of its controversial dealership bonus program for 2018, but it will relax some of the metrics it uses so that more dealerships should qualify for the payments.

New Ford 3-cylinder engine can run on just 2 cylinders
April 23
Author: Richard Truett

David Filipe, vice president of Ford's powertrain engineering, confirmed that Ford's new 1.5-liter three-cylinder with cylinder deactivation will be offered in the U.S.

Why GM has one of its own running Caddy again
April 22
Author: Michael Wayland

In ousting Johan de Nysschen and replacing him with Steve Carlisle, a company loyalist in the vein of CEO Mary Barra, GM appears to be signaling its desire to bring Cadillac back into the fold under a single, unified corporate vision that emphasizes speed and measurable return on investment.

China's Alibaba snags AI deal with Daimler, Audi, Volvo
April 22
Author: Hans Greimel

Chinese online retailing giant Alibaba is partnering with global auto brands for the first time to supply artificial intelligence technology for home-to-vehicle connectivity in China.

Toyota seeks breakthrough in reworked cars
April 22
Author: Laurence Iliff

The relatively low-volume Avalon and Corolla hatchback offer a preview of stablemates that are more critical for Toyota North America: the reworked Lexus ES, which will debut this week in Beijing, and the coming Corolla sedan.

Self-driving cars hitting red lights
April 22
Author: Shiraz Ahmed

Federal and state officials, once eager advocates of self-driving cars, now are pumping the brakes and demanding greater accountability and information that auto and tech companies may not be willing to provide.

What led to the surprise exits of Cadillac's de Nysschen, VW's Mueller?
April 21

Did ousted Cadillac boss de Nysschen have the U.S. market in his blind spot? Plus, how Mueller's cleanup job still left a mess at Volkswagen Group.

Toyota powertrain boss feeling the pressure
April 21
Author: Hans Greimel

Hirohisa Kishi says he's tackling one of his biggest challenges yet — how to keep internal combustion engines competitive in the age of electric vehicles.

Retooled QX50 fills Infiniti's 'biggest void'
April 21
Author: David Phillips

Infiniti has turned its aging QX50 into a true competitor in the compact premium crossover space, with an advanced engine, new safety technologies and an attractive sticker.

Canada, Mexico laud progress at NAFTA talks
April 21

The United States, Canada and Mexico are looking at a retooled trade pact that would require North American-built light vehicles contain content that is roughly 75 percent sourced in the three countries, up from 62.5 percent now.

JUST ARRIVED: 2019 Infiniti QX50
April 21

A look at the new Infiniti QX50 and its crossover competitors.

Ken Garff's pioneering partnership breaks up
April 21
Author: Jamie LaReau

Ken Garff Automotive, a pioneer in private equity partnerships, will buy Garcadia Auto and its half interest in 28 dealerships from Leucadia National.


Email Newsletters
  • General newsletters
  • (Weekdays)
  • (Mondays)
  • (As needed)
  • Video newscasts
  • (Weekdays)
  • (Weekdays)
  • (Saturdays)
  • Special interest newsletters
  • (Thursdays)
  • (Tuesdays)
  • (Monthly)
  • (Monthly)
  • (Wednesdays)
  • (Bimonthly)
  • Special reports
  • (As needed)
  • (As needed)
  • Communication preferences