News

Why GM has one of its own running Caddy again
April 22
Author: Michael Wayland

In ousting Johan de Nysschen and replacing him with Steve Carlisle, a company loyalist in the vein of CEO Mary Barra, GM appears to be signaling its desire to bring Cadillac back into the fold under a single, unified corporate vision that emphasizes speed and measurable return on investment.

Toyota seeks breakthrough in reworked cars
April 22
Author: Laurence Iliff

The relatively low-volume Avalon and Corolla hatchback offer a preview of stablemates that are more critical for Toyota North America: the reworked Lexus ES, which will debut this week in Beijing, and the coming Corolla sedan.

Self-driving cars hitting red lights
April 22
Author: Shiraz Ahmed

Federal and state officials, once eager advocates of self-driving cars, now are pumping the brakes and demanding greater accountability and information that autos and tech companies may not be willing to provide.

What led to the surprise exits of Cadillac's de Nysschen, VW's Mueller?
April 21

Did ousted Cadillac boss de Nysschen have the U.S. market in his blind spot? Plus, how Mueller's cleanup job still left a mess at Volkswagen Group.

Toyota powertrain boss feeling the pressure
April 21
Author: Hans Greimel

Hirohisa Kishi says he's tackling one of his biggest challenges yet — how to keep internal combustion engines competitive in the age of electric vehicles.

Retooled QX50 fills Infiniti's 'biggest void'
April 21
Author: David Phillips

Infiniti has turned its aging QX50 into a true competitor in the compact premium crossover space, with an advanced engine, new safety technologies and an attractive sticker.

Canada, Mexico laud progress at NAFTA talks
April 21

The United States, Canada and Mexico are looking at a retooled trade pact that would require North American-built light vehicles contain content that is roughly 75 percent sourced in the three countries, up from 62.5 percent now.

JUST ARRIVED: 2019 Infiniti QX50
April 21

A look at the new Infiniti QX50 and its crossover competitors.

Ken Garff's pioneering partnership breaks up
April 21
Author: Jamie LaReau

Ken Garff Automotive, a pioneer in private equity partnerships, will buy Garcadia Auto and its half interest in 28 dealerships from Leucadia National.

Magna makes progress on Ford carbon fiber subframe prototype
April 21
Author: Hans Greimel

Magna International Inc. has delivered a carbon fiber subframe prototype to Ford it says will reduce weight and tooling costs and hopes to rule on mass production by year end.

Porsche's head of powertrain development arrested
April 20

German police arrested the head of powertrain development at Porsche in connection with parent Volkswagen Group's sweeping diesel emissions violations.

Ford puts huge ad account up for review
April 20
Author: E.J. Schultz

Ford, citing the need for "greater marketing efficiency, effectiveness and customer insight," while leveraging the "latest tools and technology," placed its global creative advertising account led by WPP under review.

First Shift: Nissan embarks on EV push, retail overhaul
April 20

Nissan EV push, retail overhaul; Ghosn's 'irreversible' quest; VW Canada settlement; Chrysler, Lexus win in Texas; Barra among 'Greatest Leaders'; Hyundai showcases NFL prospects.

PSA's Tavares faces toughest opponent yet in German union
April 20

PSA boss Carlos Tavares, who is no stranger to thrashing out difficult labor deals, is now taking on Germany's powerful IG Metall union, which has been the undoing of many a cost cutter.

GM Korea, union fail to reach wage deal
April 20

GM's South Korean unit and its labor union failed to reach a wage deal after another round of talks that sought to avert a bankruptcy filing for the unprofitable operation. Talks will continue over the weekend.

VW's $229M settlement with owners of 3.0-liter diesels cleared by Canada judge
April 20
Author: Greg Layson

An Ontario judge approved a settlement worth up to $229 million with about 20,000 owners of 3.0-liter VW, Audi and Porsche diesel vehicles in Canada affected by VW's emissions violations.

AutoNews Now: 54 years of Mustang mania
April 20

54 years of Mustang mania; As buyers go big, auto loans go long; Wells Fargo fined $1B; Porsche exec arrested; No deal at GM Korea; Job cuts at Nissan, Opel?

Tesla subcontractor's busted jaw triggered safety probe
April 20

Days before Tesla defended its safety record this week, California began inspecting an incident involving a subcontractor who was hospitalized after a piece of factory equipment broke his jaw.

Truck craze, tech stretch purse strings, auto loans
April 20

Americans' love of pricey pickups, crossovers and SUVs is stretching their wallets, leading lenders to bend over backward to keep monthly payments affordable.

Don't expect big shift in U.S. exports with Korea trade deal
April 20
Author: Eric Kulisch

Under a revised trade pact with the U.S., Korea will double the annual quota for U.S. light-vehicle imports to 50,000 per Detroit 3 automaker, recognize U.S. safety standards and reduce red tape associated with emissions compliance.

Quick Shift: Uber dodges driver privacy lawsuit
April 20

The driver argued the program reduced his income, but failed to convince the judge it violated the relevant laws he cited.

Nissan to launch 8 electrified vehicles in Japan by 2022
April 20
Author: Hans Greimel

Nissan aims to stoke sales in Japan by launching eight electrified vehicles and overhauling its dealer network over the next five years.

At Nissan-Renault, the hunt for an 'irreversible,' sustainable future
April 20

The alliance between Renault and Nissan needs to come up with a sustainable plan -- something "irreversible" -- for a future when Carlos Ghosn is no longer around as chairman to guide the partnership, the top executive says.

PSA seeks 3,700 Opel job cuts in Germany, labor chief says
April 20

PSA wants 3,700 job cuts at Opel in Germany by 2020 and a process of contract buyouts and early retirement has already resulted in a reduction of about 2,000 positions, Opel's labor chief said.


Email Newsletters
  • General newsletters
  • (Weekdays)
  • (Mondays)
  • (As needed)
  • Video newscasts
  • (Weekdays)
  • (Weekdays)
  • (Saturdays)
  • Special interest newsletters
  • (Thursdays)
  • (Tuesdays)
  • (Monthly)
  • (Monthly)
  • (Wednesdays)
  • (Bimonthly)
  • Special reports
  • (As needed)
  • (As needed)
  • Communication preferences