European Automotive Hall of Fame

  • Carl Hahn
  • Pierre Dreyfus
  • Nils Bohlin
  • Charles Stewart Rolls
  • Frederick Henry Royce

  • 2005 INDUCTEES

  • Lord Herbert Austin
  • Vincenzo Lancia
  • Pierre Lefaucheux
  • Ferry Porsche

    2004 INDUCTEES

  • Marquis Albert de Dion
  • Eberhard von Kuenheim
  • August Horch
  • Wilhelm Maybach
  • Benefactors

    2003 INDUCTEES

  • Heinz Nordhoff
  • Armand Peugeot
  • Giuseppe "Nuccio" Bertone
  • Henry Ford II
  • Benefactors

    2002 INDUCTEES

  • Henry Ford
  • Andre and Edouard Michelin
  • Nicolaus Otto
  • Battista Pininfarina


  • Giovanni Agnelli
  • Karl Friedrich Benz
  • Robert Bosch
  • Ettore Bugatti
  • Andre Citroen
  • Gottlieb Daimler
  • Rudolf Diesel
  • Enzo Ferrari
  • Giorgetto Giugiaro
  • Alec Issigonis
  • William Lyons
  • Ferdinand Porsche
  • Louis Renault

  • Home Page
  • Thirteen wise men who shaped the course of European auto history

    Richard Johnson
    Automotive News Europe Editor

    LONDON -- Europe's greatest automotive innovators and empire builders have long needed a permanent place of honor.

    Now there is one. With immense pride we announce the European Automotive Hall of Fame -- and the names of its 13 charter members.

    These immortals of the car business will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at the Geneva auto show in February 2001.

    Commemorative plaques will be on display permanently at the Palexpo, home of the annual Geneva show. Newly elected members will be announced each December and inducted at the following Geneva show.

    The Hall of Fame honors technical, managerial and entrepreneurial achievements in the automotive industry. It is a tribute to dreamers who also were do-ers -- extraordinary individuals who built the biggest and most fascinating business in Europe through a combination of vision, courage, determination and genius.

    The charter members of the European Automotive Hall of Fame are: Gianni Agnelli, Karl Benz, Robert Bosch, Ettore Bugatti, André Citroen, Gottlieb Daimler, Rudolf Diesel, Giorgetto Giugiaro, Enzo Ferrari, Alec Issigonis, William Lyons, Ferdinand Porsche and Louis Renault.

    The names to the right are linked to profiles of these marvelous men.

    The charter members of the Hall of Fame were chosen by a distinguished committee of industry leaders:

  • Carl Hahn, former chairman of Volkswagen AG

  • Bernard Hanon, former chairman of Renault

  • Sergio Pininfarina, chairman of Pininfarina SpA

  • Walter Hayes, former vice chairman of Ford Motor Co. and chairman of Aston- Martin

  • Robert Lutz, former vice chairman of Chrysler Corp. and chairman of Ford of Europe

  • Keith Crain, chairman of Crain Communications and publisher of Automotive News Europe.

    The European Automotive Hall of Fame is a place to celebrate and contemplate greatness. We take enormous pride in our involvement in this new institution -- created for the sole purpose of bringing lasting honor to the legends of our industry.