European Automotive Hall of Fame

  • Heinz Nordhoff
  • Armand Peugeot
  • Giuseppe "Nuccio" Bertone
  • Henry Ford II
  • Benefactors

    2002 INDUCTEES

  • Henry Ford
  • Andre and Edouard Michelin
  • Nicolaus Otto
  • Battista Pininfarina


  • Giovanni Agnelli
  • Karl Friedrich Benz
  • Robert Bosch
  • Ettore Bugatti
  • Andre Citroen
  • Gottlieb Daimler
  • Rudolf Diesel
  • Enzo Ferrari
  • Giorgetto Giugiaro
  • Alec Issigonis
  • William Lyons
  • Ferdinand Porsche
  • Louis Renault

  • Home Page
  • Four elected to the Hall of Fame

    Automotive News Europe

    Four auto industry legends have been voted into the European Automotive Hall of Fame, including one from France, one from Germany, one from Italy and an American who had a passion for business in Europe.

    The four industry giants are:

  • Armand Peugeot, who put his wealthy family of industrialists into the automobile business more than 100 years ago.

  • Giuseppe "Nuccio" Bertone, who built one of Europe's greatest design and coachbuilding houses.

  • Heinz Nordhoff, the leader of post-war Volkswagen.

  • Henry Ford II, one of the visionaries of pan-European business organization.

    The four will join the current 18 members of the European Automotive Hall of Fame, which was created in 2000 and is located in the Palexpo, the home of the annual Geneva auto show. The newest members will be inducted at a special gala dinner on Tuesday, March 4, 2003 at the Intercontinental Hotel in Geneva.

    The Hall of Fame honors technical, managerial and entrepreneurial achievements.

    The newest members were chosen by a 10-member selection committee that included:

  • Jacques Calvet, former chairman of PSA/Peugeot-Citroen

  • Keith Crain, chairman of Crain Communications

  • Carl Hahn, former chairman of VW group

  • Bernard Hanon, former chairman of Renault

  • William Hayden, former chairman of Jaguar

  • Roger Holtback, former president of Volvo Car

  • Raymond Levy, former chairman of Renault

  • Sergio Pininfarina, chairman of Pininfarina

  • John Southgate, former vice president of public affairs, Ford of Europe

  • Helmut Werner, former chairman of Mercedes-Benz

    On this Web site we profile the new inductees.