5 will join Europe's auto hall of fame

LONDON - Five automotive legends will become the newest members of the European Automotive Hall of Fame in 2002.

They are:

  • Henry Ford (1863-1947), founder of Ford Motor Co.

  • Brothers Andres Michelin (1853-1931) and Edouard Michelin (1859-1940), who saved the French tire maker from ruin in the 19th century.

  • Battista Pininfarina (1893-1966), founder of the influential Italian design house that bears his name.

  • Nikolaus Otto (1832-1891), the German who built the first practical high-compression four-stroke engine with an ignition device.

    The five will join the 13 charter members inducted this year. The new members will be honored during ceremonies coinciding with the annual Geneva auto show in March. The Hall of Fame is at the Palexpo, home of the Geneva show.

  • ATTENTION COMMENTERS: Automotive News has monitored a significant increase in the number of personal attacks and abusive comments on our site. We encourage our readers to voice their opinions and argue their points. We expect disagreement. We do not expect our readers to turn on each other. We will be aggressively deleting all comments that personally attack another poster, or an article author, even if the comment is otherwise a well-argued observation. If we see repeated behavior, we will ban the commenter. Please help us maintain a civil level of discourse.

    Email Newsletters
    • General newsletters
    • (Weekdays)
    • (Mondays)
    • (As needed)
    • Video newscasts
    • (Weekdays)
    • (Weekdays)
    • (Saturdays)
    • Special interest newsletters
    • (Thursdays)
    • (Tuesdays)
    • (Monthly)
    • (Monthly)
    • (Wednesdays)
    • (Bimonthly)
    • Special reports
    • (As needed)
    • (As needed)
    • Communication preferences
    • You can unsubscribe at any time through links in these emails. For more information, see our Privacy Policy.