ERROR: Object template cce_leadingwomen is missing!
Profiles of honorees

Profiles by name

collapse
Exclusive Lead Sponsor

Chris Barman

FCA US

Comment on this article 
Print this article Print
Reprint Reprints
Send a letter Respond
Email Article
Share on Facebook
Share on LinkedIn
Share on Twitter
Vice President - Engineering, FCA US
Auburn Hills, Mich.

Age: 44

Education: B.S., mechanical engineering, Purdue University; M.S., mechanical engineering, Oakland University; MBA, University of Michigan

What attracted you to the auto industry? I had an internship with General Motors and was fascinated by the complexity of the auto industry. I hadnít been exposed previously. I thought I was on a track to go to med school and be a pediatrician when I started at Purdue.

First automotive job: The internship with General Motors in Anderson, Ind., in 1991 at Inland Fisher Guide. They produced headlamps, taillamps and bumpers, and I worked in the materials lab.

Big break: The recipe for me was in the culture of FCA/Chrysler, what weíve been through the years, and the ability to be entrepreneurial, and if you saw opportunities to help the company grow or improve the bottom line, you could bring those forward and people would accept that as an opportunity for improvement and would give you ownership of it. Itís exciting because youíve been given the ability to have somewhat unlimited bounds, to go and make an impact within the company and change things. But the expectation is that youíre going to deliver results on the proposal that youíve put forward.

What is the major challenge youíve faced in your career? Pre-bankruptcy, I had spent a lot of time on the technical side, doing the development of stability control and doing the development of driver assistance systems, blind spot, adaptive cruise, etc. When we came out, and I was put into the VLE (Vehicle Launch Executive) role, I had never had responsibility for a whole vehicle system program and responsibility to interface with quality and manufacturing and purchasing. Understanding all of that, I would say that was the most challenging and the most rewarding, to be given the opportunity to grow like that. But very much the responsibility is yours, and the demands were high because everybody was coming out of bankruptcy and it was all hands on deck and everybody had a lot to do.

Who has had the biggest influence on your career? My grandfather was salt-of-the-earth, as honest as you get, had a hard life. Being on a farm, you donít have a lot of neighbors, and we spent a lot of time together, and I learned a lot about right and wrong, how to do things, how to have a good work ethic.

I also learned how to do things mechanically ó I learned how to shingle roofs, I learned how to plant gardens ó that very hands-on work ethic definitely rubbed off.

And my parents also. My dad worked in the steel mills and we had the farm, so he had two jobs until he finally retired and we only had the farm. Mom was a girl who had grown up in the city of Chicago, met my dad, got married and became a farmerís wife and totally transitioned into that. She ran the house and drove the tractors, and you name it, she did it.

And now, most recently, my husband is my greatest influence. He keeps me balanced. He makes sure I have the right priorities in mind. He helps me relax when I get a little wound up about things. Itís a godsend that heís here and available for me.

What should be done to encourage women to enter the auto industry? We need to talk more about how high-tech the auto industry is. There is still the perception that the industry is very industrial and low-tech and very manual, and I donít think people understand how much technology goes into the industry. I also think they donít understand the diversity of careers.

I think itís also helpful to visit classrooms and serve as a role model and show ó both to young women and young men ó that women serve in leadership roles in these highly technical STEM areas.

Tell us about your family. My husband also works at Fiat Chrysler, on the manufacturing side. We have a daughter, 16, and a son, 14. They are active in basketball. Growing up in Indiana, I played my fair share of basketball, and my husbandís a bit of a basketball junkie as well. It works for us.

Whatís your favorite weekend activity? Theyíre usually loaded with kidsí travel basketball games. Weíve gotten to know the parents of the kids on the other teams, so itís kind of social as well, but itís very demanding. If weíre not doing that, itís doing home improvements.

Whatís your guilty pleasure? A good glass of red wine. I like Italian reds.

By Larry P. Vellequette

Automotive News Home

THE WAY FORWARD

'Leading Women' discuss family, flexibility and forging ahead

Four Automotive News 'Leading Women' reflect on the people, places and things that continue to inspire them at work and home.